Skip to main content

Posts

Featured Post

Plots of Gold in a Month Filled with Rainbows

Game Changers series by Rachel Reid   Contemporary romance, Carina Press   For fans of Sawyer Bennett, Sarina Bowen, Kate Meader, hockey, and sports romances with as much emotional substance as sexual heat   1. Game Changer   Being oneself is worth the risk.   2. Heated Rivalry   Misdirection misleads almost everyone, even the two people involved.   3. Tough Guy   Hard shell, soft center. Yum. Unapologetically authentic creative. More yum.   4. Common Goal   Not quite May-December brings the heat off the ice year-round.   5. Role Model (coming August 2021)   The first four rank high on emotional intimacy, sexual chemistry, and nuanced character complexity. They range from medium to high on the squick-o-meter of physical intimacy.  Reviews for the following two titles will post to RomanceDailyNews.com at some later date.   Learned Reactions (Higher Education #2) by Jayce Ellis   Contemporary romance, Carina Press   A recluse and a playboy eventually figure out what they want.   https:/
Recent posts

#TBT #ThrowbackThursday May 13, 2021

  Bookshelves Got Stacks by Cardyn Brooks   as inspired by “Baby Got Back" by Sir Mix-a-Lot   I like big books and I can not lie   You other readers can't deny   That when a good book takes up so much prime shelf space, wow   And a wide spine in your face, you get crazed   Wanna check it out ‘cause you notice that title is bait   Deep thought meanings, it's blaring   I'm intrigued and can’t stop staring   Oh, big books, I wanna start reading   And take your measure   Reviewers tried to warn me   That big books ARCs sent (they so binge-y!)   Oh, door-stopper reads   You say you wanna expand my mind?   Well, do it, do it   ‘Cause you ain't that average-length read    

Mommy Issues, Good Mothers, Bad A** Moms, Asian American Pacific Islander Heritage & More

  It's Been a Pleasure, Noni Blake by Claire Christian   Contemporary romantic women's fiction   Mira Books, February 2021   Noni Blake is smart, funny, and dedicated to her family, friends, and students. She's also a charming, neurotic mess who uses a list of past lovers to set off on a journey to become her most authentic self. It's a risky and intentional endeavor to navigate adulthood. Near the beginning during a chat between Noni and her bestie, they speculate that “… aging is actually just about getting used to yourself… or fighting against it.”   In a slapstick, absurdist manner that also incorporates emotional nuance and sensitivity, It's Been a Pleasure, Noni Blake taps into prominent themes from Alice Walker’s non-fiction work The Same River Twice as applied to one's romantic past with Cher's “If I Could Turn Back Time" and Willie Nelson's and Julio Iglesias’s “To All the Girls I've Loved Before" (where Girls = People) dominating

It's Independent Bookstore Day Saturday, April 24, 2021!

  Today and every day books--new releases, remainders, collectibles, rare finds,, used (pre-read?), sheet music, bookish merch, etc.--need readers to buy them from independent bookstores that keep them in stock and special ordered, just waiting to be discovered and claimed by curious humans of all ages, orientations, ethnicities, nationalities, abilities, shapes, sizes, heights, shades, genders, and personality types who are eager to explore the universes of adventure, entertainment, and information a stellar variety of authors and creatives contribute to the readersphere. Independent bookstores anchor their neighborhoods and serve their neighbors. They're sources of dynamic exchanges of investments in mutual benefits of enrichment—cultural, economic, emotional, and intellectual—engagement, connection, and joy.   As a person who was born in Washington, D.C., raised mostly in Maryland, and attended college in Virginia, my regional bias leans toward the U.S. mid-Atlantic, and my list

Warm Weather, Hot Reads & Dyslexia Strategies

Fur Baby Matchmaker on a Mission   Joint Custody by Lauren Baratz-Logsted & Jackie Logsted -contemporary   Sex, Lies & Conspiracies    Earl’s Well That Ends Well (Way to a Lord's Heart #5) by Jane Ashford -historical   No Holding Back by Lori Foster -contemporary   Walking the Edge by Sue Ward Drake -contemporary   Who Wants to Marry a Duke (Duke Dynasty #3) by Sabrina Jefferies -historical   A Wolf After My Own Heart (BeWere My Heart #2) by MaryJanice Davidson -contemporary   Won't Go Home Without You (Richardson Sisters #2) by Cheris Hodges -contemporary   Seri(es)ous Reading   Any Rogue Will Do (Misfits of Mayfair #1) by Bethany Bennett -historical   Beauty Tempts the Beast (Sins for All Seasons #6) by Lorraine Heath -historical  • More an assortment of clever twists on “My Fair Lady" than a retelling of “Beauty and the Beast"   Careless Whispers (Jackson Falls #4) by Synithia Williams -contemporary   Falling Hard (Colorado High Country #3) by Pam

2021 First Quarter (Mostly) Romance Reading Round-Up*

Contemporary Reads for Lovers of Lists (& Rules to Break) to Add to Their TBR Lists How to Fail at Flirting by Denise Williams  Much Ado About You by Samantha Young  Ten Rules for Faking It by Sophie Sullivan  Revenge/Retribution   The Devil in Her Bed (Devil You Know #3) by Kerrigan Byrne (historical)  The Last True Gentleman (True Gentlemen #12) by Grace Burrowes (historical)  Triple M Murder by Carmen Cady (contemporary supernatural romantic suspense) -involuntary compliance trigger warning Contemporary Meta Paradise for Trope Lovers   Truth, Lies, and Second Dates (Danger, Sweetheart universe #3) by MaryJanice Davidson  Written in the Stars by Alexandria Bellefleur**   Faux-mance Gone Real    First Comes Like (Modern Love #3) by Alisha Rai (contemporary)  Someday My Duke Will Come (Isle of Synne #2) by Christina Britton (historical)  Nonconformists in Love   The Worst Duke in the World (Penhallow Dynasty #5) by Lisa Berne (historical)  40-Love (Marysburg #2) by Olivia Dade (c

Transformations

Big Bad Wolf by Suleikha Snyder   Supernatural romance thriller   Sourcebooks Casablanca, January 26, 2021   Is it possible to defend the indefensible?   Attorney and psychologist Neha Ahluwalia is tasked with finding the answer from Joe Peluso. At first glance he's a homicidal vigilante who's a lone wolf in more ways than one. When Neha probes deeper, assorted deadly secrets are revealed, putting her and Joe into multiple sets of dangerous crosshairs and sending them on the run where their smoldering chemistry ignites.   Warring criminal factions, covert operatives, political gamesmanship, bloody conflicts, and competing supernatural groups make Big Bad Wolf a rollicking good read. An organically inclusive cast of characters who move through an exaggerated sociopolitical magnification of present-day cultural strife adds nuanced emotional intimacy, philosophical complexity and resonance to this edgy alternate universe. Key elements are reminiscent of the World of the Lupi serie